early daze of summer recap

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

a brief glimpse into the last little while….

Mia went off to Alberta to visit family for 3 weeks making for extremely quiet and lonely days with her away…:( we can’t wait to have her back this weekend.

Beth and MJ came out to play in the bush, helping with the shower house project and bucking trees to clear some trailer killers. It was great to spend time in the kitchen with Beth as well is in the dirt! We borrowed a neighbours canoe and did a day paddle, which reminded us how light a canoe can be… ours however makes for a lofty portage. Luckily the last clients Dyl worked for gifted him an old (light) damaged canoe which he is repairing once in a while, in his abundant free time… did you sense the sarcasm in that last statement?

The Urban Rehab team packed it in; this country life was too much hard work for them… we are settling into enjoying our space and privacy again, including naked dashes to the garden and showering with the door open again!

We spent a wonderful weekend on the lake with Mel, Mark and Leroy doing some much needed canoe camping and fishing (I even caught a little fellow, although in my excitement dangling him in the air squealing he got away). I can’t wait to get back in the canoe on the lake, and we are eagerly planning our next lake outing with our dear Okanagan friends!

The mosquitoes are ripe and horrible here with the high waters and I am dreaming of a mosquito free August.

The garden, the chickens, and Oden are all growing at an exponential rate! The corn is higher than my knees and the poly beds are voluptuous and a sight to withhold. The row crop thick with clover cover is like a Vietnamese jungle scene and the potato bags are insane and bursting with pounds of potatoes. The puppy is towering now over Kenzie and he is as thick as a tree, and a monster to keep fed. The little chickens are getting harder to pick out from the old girls and they are stunning and just as unique and beautiful. I am finally starting to spot rooster like traits in some and we are dreaming of more deep fried rooster dinners.

We were recently blessed by a fellow Permi, Yee with some parting gifts as he sets off to what may well be his final journey back to Australia. He graciously left behind with us, his entire end of the world survival book collection of alternative building, growing, healing, energy, eating, and living collections, along with some food and water storage solutions and much good will, for which we are grateful. We were looking so forward to him being our full time neighbour as he bought land down the valley from us, and enjoyed breaking bread with him on the occasions he headed here from Vancouver. Yee we wish you all the best down south, and hope our paths will cross again one day.

I am a one woman army in the garden which is all a little much but I am young and strong and when I think at the work my ancestors did breaking ground in the dust bowl of Alberta 80 years ago, I feel silly complaining about some weeds dotting my lush and abundant garden scape. I have ran crying from the garden a number of times, as the mosquitoes are relentless right now, and they love the way I taste, but again given how blessed we are to be living here growing food with a roof (albeit a leaky on) over our heads, I ought to bite my tongue and just get ‘er done. Easy to say as I sit hiding indoors from the blood suckers enjoying my goat milk latte, busying myself with hopes of the sky opening up and pouring down on my garden so I can run out their and work away with reprieve from the monsters.

July is a lesson in patience. and I am a fidgety student, armed with spitballs.

2 thoughts on “early daze of summer recap

Leave a Reply

