Slocan Valley Farm Opportunity # 3 – Gimli Farms

IMG_2091 

The Gimli Farm is a small homestead with a big garden and a small herd of dairy goats. We also have chickens, a horse and a very friendly dog.

A few years ago the two of us started with a 12 acre forest and big dreams. We live in a house under construction and accommodations are a little rustic; either in a big tent (with a bed) or in the house in an unfinished guestroom.

Most of our food is homegrown and homemade. We are not vegetarian but can accommodate those who are.

Help is needed in gardening, fencing, constructon, firewood, feeding and caring for the animals.

We are only a 5 minute walk to the Slocan River, where you can swim, canoe or just enjoy the tranquillity of the river and the wilderness.

2 thoughts on “Slocan Valley Farm Opportunity # 3 – Gimli Farms

  1. I was wondering if you have, or know someone in your area who has, an opportunity such as I describe below that I might possibly be able to offer myself to as a candidate.

    I am looking for a permanent situation where I can contribute my skills, experience, tools and energy in a rural situation where folks are building self-sufficiency through cottage industry and/or small-scale food production (WA, OR, ID, MT, BC). I would be looking for a place that offers simple housing for myself and a small wage or share of revenues generated or the ability to earn money independently. My skills and interests include: Micro-farming, organic gardening, raising dairy goats (10+ years), cheese-making, sustainable homesteading, renewable energy, green construction, political organizing, computer skills (i.e. professional web design, web-based activism, digital graphics, databases & spreadsheets), writing and editing, verbal communication, teaching, intentional community, permaculture, photography, herbology, cooking and music. I am a Certified Permaculture Designer. I have 20 years farming experience. At 55 years of age (male), I seek an opportunity where I am not called upon to carry the whole weight of a project, but I am healthy and I have enough stamina to contribute valuable energy to a team effort. No money to invest, just skills, some tools, creativity and humor.

Leave a Reply

